Key Stage 1


In  Year 1 and Year 2 the children follow the National Curriculum. Staff plan learning experiences and activities that are engaging and cross curricular. 


The KS1 curriculum includes:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Computing 
  • Art
  • History
  • Geography
  • Design and Technology
  • Music
  • PE (Physical Education)
  • RE (Religious Education)
  • PSHE (Personal, Social & Health Education)


Teacher assessment is used throughout KS1 and children take part in SATs test at the end of Year 2.


Year 1 & Year 2 (KS1) are currently taught in a mixed age class. English and Maths are differentiated to meet year group objectives. Other areas of the curriculum are taught on a rolling programme so that have children accessed the full KS1 curriculum by the end of Year 2. 


Curriculum planning KS1


For more information about the National Curriculum click here.